Volvo Environment Prize

Because of our concern for the environment we instituted The Volvo Environment Prize 1988.The prize has become one of the world’s most prestigious environmental scientific prizes. It is awarded annually to people who have made outstanding scientific discoveries within the area of the environment and sustainable development.

Laureate 2018

Xuemei Bai

The winner of the Volvo Environment Prize 2018, professor Xuemei Bai is a global thought leader on urbanization and sustainability.

Born and raised in China, living in Japan for many years, now an Australian citizen and a professor Australian National University, she is a leading expert on how to make rapidly growing cities more livable, sustainable and resilient. Her focus is on Asia and the global South.

“It is sometimes said that sustainability will be won or lost in cities. I would go one step further and say that sustainability will be won or lost in cities in the Global South.

We need to approach cities as a human-dominant complex ecosystem and manage them as such. If we do that I believe there is a bright future for humans and their cities”, says Xuemei Bai

Read more

Environmental news

About the prize
The Volvo Environment Prize

The Volvo Environment Prize

The Volvo Environment Prize?is awarded for: "Outstanding innovations or scientific discoveries, which in broad terms fall within the environmental field."

Since its inception in 1990 the Volvo Environment Prize has become one of the scientific world’s most respected environmental awards.

The Prize is awarded by an independent foundation, instituted in 1988. A Scientific Committee does the initial screening and evaluation of candidates. The International Prize Jury, a group of internationally renowned scientists, makes the final selection of laureate or laureates.

Laureates represent all fields of environmental and sustainability studies and initiatives.

The Volvo Environment Prize is awarded annually. The Prize consists of a hand-crafted diploma, a glass sculpture and a cash award of SEK 1.5 million (approximately EUR 165,000 or USD 215,000). The award ceremony is in Stockholm in November.

for more information visit

Visit the official website